Unwritten

If you are feeling creatively challenged I can not urge you enough to go to the Bad Girls Site!  I can honestly say that I have never found so much inspiration in one place EVER!  Here’s my new favorite piece, thanks in no small part to the BGs Elite Designers, Finnabair and Julie Ann.  This work is a combo of two current challenges.  The first is Finn’s Scrap the Song Challenge.  We were to pick a song, a favorite or something that inspired us.  I chose Unwritten.  For those of you that know me…no it isn’t my typical song choice.  BUT, it really reflects the place I am in now after grieving my mom for the past nine months.  I need constant reminders to live for this minute and not get bogged down in the day to day stresses that so easily take over.  This song says it all…it is up to me.  No one else can live it, choose it, or make it what I want it to be!

Here’s the video.

I have been so inspired by Finn’s unique style (check out her blog) that I bought a canvas, some molding past, glaze and pouring liquid, broke out the acrylic paints and just went for it.  SO MUCH FUN!  I think I found my newest addiction….

I wanted to show what hope felt like to me…kind of like that feeling you get when you are standing in a patch of late afternoon sun and you just want to lean into it and stay there forever. 

The song talks about opening up the “dirty window” and I was toying with several different ways to get that effect into the piece. 

Then I remembered Julie Ann’s current challenge to Re-Purpose Security Envelopes.  (Check out the non-stop inspiration at her blog!!!)  I used just the plastic windows along the edge of the canvas and then varnished them to get a frosted glass look.

Loads of Prima leaves and flowers, some book pages and a funky old key I found completed the canvas. 

I can’t wait to do another one….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unwritten

  1. Fairyrocks says:

    Gorgeous mixed media creation

  2. finnabair says:

    !!!! As I said before – I’m in love in your creation! Amazimg piece – can’t wait for the next one!!!!
    hugs
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

