Making Leis

Making leis this morning, early, with the sunrise, before anyone else was awake.  I enjoyed my quiet time listening to the birds and the roosters and watching the morning light play over the palms. 

Yesterday we drove out to the other end of the island to visit Papuhaku Beach.   Papuhaku is a three-mile long, white-sand beach and the longest in Hawaii.   We had the entire place to ourselves, does it get any better than that???

Mia splashed in a tide pool as the water is too rough to swim in.  There were shells everywhere and I collected more thanI should have.

We had lunch in Kalaupapa and I became completely obsessed with the outside of the restaurant…. I just love how everything here is weathered and tattered and not the least bit polished up.

We were wiped out and had an early night…I think I was napping at 5:30, woke up to make everyone dinner and back in bed by 7.  Vacation schedule is starting to kick in…. too bad we only have a couple more days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Leis

  1. Sarah says:

    I’d be aiming the camera at all the gorgeously aged sh-tuff too. Gorgeous pictures!!!

  2. Kristine L says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE these photos! How I can see every grain of sand and feel like I can touch the foam. Mia looks incredibly happy too. YAY for you to have some morning crafting time. Love, K

Leave a Reply

