Art Supplies DO grow on trees!

 

Who knew?  LOL  When in Hawaii it is hard for me not to collect.  I’m a nature freak so I always have a pocket or bag full of shells, beach glass, trinkets from the local shops (oh maybe that last one isn’t really nature!).   Well, there’s not much shopping on Molokai and I wanted to make some things for us to take home as a reminder of how much fun we have there. 

First along came Coco Fish. 

She started as a lowly dried coconut living out her days after falling of the tree in peace and quiet…until I came along!

I painted up some banana palm leaves for fins and her tail, coated them with Glossy Accents and she was ready for a swim!

Mia is totally in love with her and I am too!

After working with the banana palm leaves I wanted to try my hand at a basket. 

I figured I would start out small and see how it went.  The leaves even when dried are waxy feeling and pretty flexible.  I peeled them into thin strips and then started winging it.

Because it was so small I found it pretty hard to manage until I got about 1/2 way up.  I did a messy weave on purpose because I wasn’t going for a uniform look.

Here it is.  It is very delicate and tiny only about 4 inches high.  I wasn’t sure how I wanted to finish the top but knew I wanted it to look wild and rustic.  So I braided most of the pieces together and left a few as “stems” for some gorgeous e line flowers from Prima.  It’s a perfect hiding place for a special little shell.  I brought a big stack of leaves home with me and just might try another one!

 

And who knows what other projects they might make their way into!?!?!?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Art Supplies DO grow on trees!

  1. Carol says:

    You are a visionary for sure ! Love it all !

  2. Sarah says:

    I really like that basket… you do need a bigger one though… to gather all your treasures in! :O)
    I can’t wait til this summer really starts. I got a flower press for my berf-day and I have plans to use/abuse it! I looooove natural.

  3. Ann Marie says:

    I swear, Leslie, you could make beautiful creations out of just about anything!!! And what wonderful reminders of your trip 🙂

  4. elina says:

    incredible what you did with that! I would have never thought it! very inspiring! love it!!

  5. kristi says:

    LOVE the coconut fish! that is really the cutest thing ever. love your super craftyness, your creativity is amazing!

Leave a Reply

